Wuerffel Trophy

The Wuerffel Trophy is awarded annually to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

The Wuerffel Trophy is named for former Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel, the 1996 winner of the Heisman Trophy. It was first awarded in 2005.

From the Wuerffel Trophy website
Why was the Wuerffel Trophy created?  We felt that there was a void in major college football awards. Mike Bianchi of the Orlando Sentinel put it best when he wrote, “The Wuerffel. It’s about time. There’s an award for the best quarterback, best running back, wide receiver, best linebacker, best center and even best kicker and punter. Why not one for the best human being?” For us, Danny Wuerffel is the perfect person to have this award named after. He represents that which is good in the world, and truly dedicates his life to community service in the highest form.  Danny embodies the three categories of the award: Academics, Athletics and Community Service.

The Wuerffel Trophy is the only major college football award that places the majority of its voting emphasis on Community Service. Danny said of his feelings of the Wuerffel Trophy upon inception, “It will inspire other people to be community minded, to live for others, to sacrifice their own interests for the benefit of the community and other people.”

We are proud to work in harmony with the All Sports Association to award the Wuerffel Trophy each year, presented to the FBS (formerly Division 1) football player that best combines exemplary community service with academic and athletic achievement.

Other Resources

Wuerffel Trophy official website
Current Watch List
Wuerffel Trophy Facebook page
Wuerffel Trophy Twitter feed

List of Winners

2017Courtney LoveKentuckyLBSR
2016Trevor KnightTexas A&MQBSR
2015Ty DarlingtonOklahomaCSR
2014Deterrian ShackelfordOle MissLBSR
2013Gabe IkardOklahomaOLSR
2012Matt BarkleyUSCQBSR
2011Barrett JonesAlabamaOTSR
2010Sam AchoTexasDESR
2009Tim HillerWestern MichiganQBSR
2008Tim TebowFloridaQBJR
2007Paul SmithTulsaQBSR
2006Joel PentonOhio StateDTSR
2005Rudy NiswangerLSUCSR