William V. Campbell Trophy

The William V. Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the absolute best in the country for his academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership.

Named in honor of William V. Campbell, the former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the trophy has become the most prestigious and desirable “academic” award in college football. For that reason, it is sometimes referred to as the “Academic Heisman.” In December 2013, the New York Athletic Club (NYAC) became the exclusive home of The William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments. Prior to 2009, the William V. Campbell Trophy was known as the Vincent dePaul Draddy Trophy in honor of the longtime chairman of the College Football Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors.

From the William V. Campbell Trophy Home Page:
Known as “The Coach of Silicon Valley,” Bill Campbell became one of our country’s most influential business leaders, playing critical roles in the success of Apple, Google, Intuit and countless other high tech companies. The captain of the 1961 Columbia Ivy League championship team, he found his true calling after an unlikely career change at age 39 from football coach to advertising executive. His ability to recruit, develop, and manage talented executives – all lessons learned on the gridiron – proved to be a critical component of his ability to inspire his business teams to the highest levels of success. Later in life, Campbell was driven by a heartfelt desire to give back, and he quietly gave away tens of millions of dollars to multiple charities while also finding an hour and half each autumn weekday to coach an eighth-grade boys and girls flag-football team near his home in Palo Alto, Calif. Campbell passed away April 18, 2016, at the age of 75.

Criteria and Selection Process
Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates must be:

  • A senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility;
  • Have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale;
  • Have outstanding football ability as a first team player; and
  • Have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Selected by the NFF Awards Committee in October, the finalists and the winner are all honored at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner in December at the New York Hilton Midtown in New York City. Each finalist receives an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments. The individual selected as the absolute best and the winner of the Campbell Trophy has his postgraduate scholarship increased to a total of $25,000, which is endowed by HealthSouth. The award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy.

Other Resources

William V. Campbell Trophy Home Page on the National Football Foundation website

List of Winners

2017Micah KiserVirginiaLBSR
2016Zach TerrellWestern MichiganQBSR
2015Ty DarlingtonOklahomaCSR
2014David HeltonDukeLBSR
2013John UrschelPenn StateOLSR
2012Barrett JonesAlabamaOTSR
2011Andrew RodriguezArmyLBSR
2010Sam AchoTexasDESR
2009Tim TebowFloridaQBSR
2008Alex MackCaliforniaCSR
2007Dallas GriffinTexasCSR
2006Brian LeonardRutgersRBSR
2005Rudy NiswangerLSUCSR
2004Michael MunozTennesseeOTSR
2003Craig KrenzelOhio StateQBSR
2002Brandon RobertsWashington (MO)LBSR
2001Joaquin GonzalezMiami (FL)OTSR
2000Kyle Vanden BoschNebraskaDESR
1999Chad PenningtonMarshallQBSR
1998Matt StinchcombGeorgiaOTSR
1997Peyton ManningTennesseeQBSR
1996Danny WuerffelFloridaQBSR
1995Bobby HoyingOhio StateQBSR
1994Robert B. ZatechkaNebraskaOGSR
1993Thomas D. BurnsVirginiaLBSR
1992Jim HansenColoradoOTSR
1991Brad CulpepperFloridaDTSR
1990Chris HowardAir ForceRBSR