Handicapping the major college football national championship

If you’re trying to figure out who will win major college football’s national championship, then there’s a list of 33 teams of which you should be aware. You see, since the Associated Press crowned a national champion via a poll of sportswriters for the first time in 1936, only 33 of the current NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs have ever won a national title. Stated another way, 97 of…

September 17, 2017

The Road Report: College Football America Week 3

The biggest story in college football over the past couple of weeks has been Hurricanes Harvey and Irma which have collectively wiped out hundreds of college and high school football games. College Football America Editor-in-Chief Matthew Postins gives a great perspective, however, on where football ranks in the list of priorities, and we only bring it up because we are a college football website. We salute all the emergency officials…

September 16, 2017

Oklahoma earns FWAA National Team of the Week honors

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Oklahoma Sooners scored the nation’s best road win of the young season, going to Columbus and upending Ohio State, 31-16. For giving first-year head coach Lincoln Riley a signature win, the Sooners have earned the Football Writers Association of America National Team of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Sept. 9. The announcement came on “Off Campus with Mark Packer” on ESPNU Radio…

September 13, 2017

The Program bids farewell to first senior class

In each edition of the College Football America Yearbook, Publisher Kendall Webb selects a team of the nation’s top incoming freshmen designated by their signing year — e.g., the Class of 2017. The team is the equivalent of a Freshman All-America team for the upcoming season, but we also continue to track their progress throughout their collegiate careers as the goal is to find players that can make an impact early…

February 2, 2017

College Football Playoff announces new committee members

Courtesy of the College Football Playoff IRVING, Texas – Bill Hancock, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff (CFP), announced last week that Frank Beamer, Chris Howard and Eugene “Gene” Smith have been appointed to the selection committee by the CFP Management Committee. The new members will each begin a three-year term this spring. Hancock also announced extensions for two current members who had served incomplete terms.  The term for committee chair…

January 22, 2017

NFF salutes the College Football Playoff

IRVING, Texas (Jan. 12, 2017) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame salutes the College Football Playoff (CFP) and its staff for their exceptional efforts in staging the Third Annual CFP National Championship along with the Tampa Bay Organizing Committee for their hospitality in hosting multiple first-class events. “The College Football Playoff continues to exceed everybody’s expectations,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. “Executive Director Bill Hancock and his outstanding staff have…

January 21, 2017

College Football Playoff extends Hancock’s contract

Courtesy of the College Football Playoff IRVING, Texas – The Board of Managers for the College Football Playoff (CFP) announced today a three-year extension of the contract for Executive Director Bill Hancock. “Bill Hancock is not only one of the most widely respected people in college football, he’s one of the kindest, most decent, and able people anyone will ever meet,” said C. Max Nikias, the President of the University of Southern…

January 20, 2017

NFF/CFB Hall of Fame announce 2017 class

Courtesy of the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame TAMPA, Fla. – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Football Hall of Fame announced the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class earlier this week, which includes the names of 10 First Team All-America players and three standout coaches. The inductees were selected from the national ballot of 75 All-America players and six elite coaches from the NCAA Football…

January 14, 2017

Alabama leads first playoff rankings; Texas A&M edges out Washington

GRAPEVINE, Texas – The College Football Playoff Selection Committee announced its first set of Top 25 rankings. Alabama is No. 1, Clemson No. 2, Michigan No. 3 and Texas A&M is No. 4. The committee will prepare five more rankings this season, including the final set on Selection Day, Sunday, December 4. The top four teams in the final rankings will play in the Playoff Semifinals on December 31, 2016, at…

November 2, 2016

College Football Playoff Update (October 31, 2016)

We entered last weekend with 14 teams in our College Football Playoff Pool, and only Boise State from Group 3 failed to survive the weekend. The Broncos were ousted in the most unlikeliest of finishes losing late to the Wyoming Cowboys who forced a game-winning safety to win 30-28. The loss was Boise State’s first of the season and ended their longshot bid for a spot in the playoff. But we also…

October 31, 2016