Rotary Lombardi Award

The Rotary Lombardi Award recognizes the “outstanding college football player & leader” with one of the more unique trophies in sports – a 40-pound block of granite atop a silver pedestal built over a foundation of discipline. The symbolic design was created by Houston Rotarian and professional artist, the late Mark Storm.

Prior to 2016, the Lombardi was awarded to best college football lineman or linebacker. It is now open to any player at any position, but the player must be outstanding while exhibiting exemplary leadership skills. It is named, of course, for legendary Green Bay Packers head coach Vince Lombardi, and was established just weeks after his death in 1970 by the Rotary Club of Houston.

A distinguished committee of nearly 400 of America’s most prominent college football coaches, football writers, sports broadcasters and previous Rotary Lombardi Award winners and finalists, participate in a three-tiered balloting process. Each year the selection committee selects twenty semifinalists, four finalists and the ultimate winner in balloting conducted by the accounting firm of KPMG.

Other Resources

Rotary Lombardi Award official website
Current Watch List
Rotary Lombardi Award Facebook page
Rotary Lombardi Award Twitter feed

List of Winners

2016Jonathan AllenAlabamaDLSR
2015Carl NassibPenn StateDTSR
2014Scooby Wright IIIArizonaILBSO
2013Aaron DonaldPittsburghDTSR
2012Manti Te'oNotre DameILBSR
2011Luke KuechlyBoston CollegeILBJR
2010Nick FairleyAuburnDTJR
2009Ndamukong SuhNebraskaDTSR
2008Brian OrakpoTexasDESR
2007Glenn DorseyLSUDTSR
2006LaMarr WoodleyMichiganILBSR
2005A.J. HawkOhio StateILBSR
2004David PollackGeorgiaDESR
2003Tommie HarrisOklahomaDTJR
2002Terrell SuggsArizona StateDEJR
2001Julius PeppersNorth CarolinaDEJR
2000Jamal ReynoldsFlorida StateDTSR
1999Corey MooreVirginia TechDESR
1998Dat NguyenTexas A&MILBSR
1997Grant WistromNebraskaDESR
1996Orlando PaceOhio StateOTJR
1995Orlando PaceOhio StateOTSO
1994Warren SappMiami (FL)DTJR
1993Aaron TaylorNotre DameOTSR
1992Marvin JonesFlorida StateILBJR
1991Steve EmtmanWashingtonDTJR
1990Chris ZorichNotre DameNGSR
1989Percy SnowMichigan StateILBSR
1988Tracy RockerAuburnDTSR
1987Chris SpielmanOhio StateILBSR
1986Cornelius BennettAlabamaOLBSR
1985Tony CasillasOklahomaMGJR
1984Tony DegrateTexasDTSR
1983Dean SteinkuhlerNebraskaOTSR
1982Dave RimingtonNebraskaCSR
1981Kenneth SimsTexasDTSR
1980Hugh GreenPittsburghDESR
1979Brad BuddeUSCOGSR
1978Bruce ClarkPenn StateDTJR
1977Ross BrownerNotre DameDESR
1976Wilson WhitleyHoustonDESR
1975Lee Roy SelmonOklahomaDESR
1974Randy WhiteMarylandDTSR
1973John HicksOhio StateOTSR
1972Rich GloverNebraskaMGSR
1971Walt PatulskiNotre DameDTSR
1970Jim StillwagonOhio StateMGSR