Ray Guy Award

The Ray Guy Award – named for football’s premier punter – honors the nation’s best collegiate punter. The award was created by the Augusta Sports Council in 2000.

A native of Thomson, Ga., Ray Guy lettered in both baseball and football at Southern Mississippi, but his football exploits are legendary. In his first collegiate game, Guy booted a 77 yard punt – one of three times in his career that he had kicks over 70 yards. His career average over three varsity seasons was 44.7 yards, including the 1972 season when he averaged 46.2 yards/kick and was a unanimous choice for All American. He capped his college career with a punt that went a whopping 93 yards. 

In 1973, Guy became the first pure punter ever drafted in the first round of the NFL draft. In 14 years with the Oakland Raiders, Guy was an integral weapon in propelling the Raiders to three Super Bowl titles and appeared in seven Pro Bowls.

In 2004, Ray Guy was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, becoming the first punter to achieve the honor. In August of 2014, he was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Other Resources

Ray Guy Award official home page
Current Watch List
Ray Guy Award Facebook page
Ray Guy Award Twitter feed

List of Winners

2017Michael DicksonTexasJR
2016Mitch WishnowskyUtahSO
2015Tom HackettUtahSR
2014Tom HackettUtahJR
2013Tom HornseyMemphisSR
2012Ryan AllenLA TechSR
2011Ryan AllenLA TechJR
2010Chas HenryFloridaSR
2009Drew ButlerGeorgiaSO
2008Matt FodgeOklahoma StateSR
2007Durant BrooksGeorgia TechSR
2006Daniel SepulvedaBaylorSR
2005Ryan PlackemeierWake ForestSR
2004Daniel SepulvedaBaylorSO
2003B.J. SanderOhio StateSR
2002Mark MariscalColoradoJR
2001Travis DorschPurdueSR
2000Kevin StemkeWisconsinSR