College Football Playoff Pool

Updated through December 1, 2018

Every week we update our pool of teams that is still in the running for the College Football Playoff. We organize teams into four groups of teams based on the priority they are likely to receive from the College Football Playoff selection committee.

Group 1
Undefeated teams from Power 5 conferences

Group 2
One-loss teams from Power 5 conferences

Group 3
Any team or conference champion with two or more losses from a Power 5 conference or, possibly, a one-loss team from a Group of 5 conference that may warrant consideration under unique circumstances (e.g., a two-loss SEC champion). These teams won’t be listed until it becomes apparent that they may have an opportunity to make the College Football Playoff field based on whether there are enough Group 1 and/or Group 2 teams.

Group 4
Undefeated teams from Group of 5 conferences

Our Current Rankings

RankingTeamConferenceGroupW-LNext Game
01AlabamaSECGroup 113-0TBD
02ClemsonACCGroup 113-0TBD
03Notre DameIndependentGroup 112-0TBD
04OklahomaBig 12Group 212-1TBD
05Ohio St.Big TenGroup 212-1TBD
06GeorgiaSECGroup 311-2TBD

Eliminated Teams by Date of Elimination

11/24/2018: Michigan
11/23/2018: Washington State
11/17/2018: West Virginia
11/3/2018: Kentucky, LSU
10/27/2018: Florida, Iowa, NC State, Texas, USF
10/20/2018: Cincinnati, Colorado, Duke, Oregon
10/13/2018: Miami (FL), Penn State, Washington, Wisconsin
10/6/2018: Auburn, Boston College, California, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan State, Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma State, Stanford, Syracuse, Virginia Tech
9/29/2018: Baylor, Buffalo, Mississippi State, North Texas, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas Tech, Utah, Virginia
9/22/2018: Akron, Arizona State, Illinois, Kansas, Kansas State, LA Tech, Louisville, Marshall, Pittsburgh, TCU, Tennessee, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt, Wake Forest
9/15/2018: Arkansas, Boise State, Eastern Michigan, Florida State, Georgia Southern, Georgia Tech, Hawaii, Houston, Iowa State, Louisiana, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio, Oregon State, Rutgers, Toledo, ULM, USC
9/8/2018: Air Force, Arizona, Arkansas State, BYU, Ball State, Charlotte, Fresno State, Georgia State, Liberty, Memphis, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Purdue, Southern Miss, Tulsa, UAB, UCLA
9/2/2018: East Carolina
9/1/2018: Appalachian State, Bowling Green, Central Michigan, Coastal Carolina, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Kent State, Miami (OH), Middle Tennessee, Navy, Northern Illinois, Old Dominion, Rice, SMU, South Alabama, Temple, Texas State, Troy, UMass, UNLV, UTEP, UTSA, Wyoming
8/31/2018: Army West Point, San Diego State, Utah State, Western Kentucky, Western Michigan
8/30/2018: San Jose State, Tulane, UConn
8/25/2018: Colorado State, New Mexico State