College Football Awards

National College Football Awards Association

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) was founded in 1997 as a coalition of major collegiate football awards. The purpose of the NCFAA is to protect, preserve, and enhance the integrity, influence, and prestige of college football’s various awards. The NCFAA also encourages professionalism and the highest standards possible for the administration of college football awards and the selection of their winners. The 22 awards boast over 700 years of tradition-selection excellence.

List of NCFAA Member Awards

AwardYear EstablishedVoting Criteria
Heisman Memorial Trophy1935Most Outstanding College Football Player
Biletnikoff Award1994Nation’s Outstanding College Football Receiver
Bronko Nagurski Trophy1993College Football's Best Defensive Player
Chuck Bednarik Award1995College Defensive Player of the Year
Butkus Award1985Nation's Best Linebacker
Davey O'Brien Award1977Nation's Best Quarterback
Disney Spirit Sports Award1996Most Inspirational Player, Team or Figure in College Football
Doak Walker Award1989Nation's Premier Running Back
Jim Thorpe Award1986Nation's Best Defensive Back
John Mackey Award2000Nation's Most Outstanding Tight End
Lou Groza Award1992Nation's Top Collegiate Place-Kicker
Maxwell Award1937College Player of the Year
Outland Trophy1946Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Ray Guy Award2000College Punter of the Year
Dave Rimington Trophy2000Nation's Premier Center
Rotary Lombardi Award1970College Lineman of the Year
Walter Camp Award1967Nation's Most Outstanding Player
William V. Campbell Trophy1990Nation's Premier Football Scholar-Athlete
Wuerffel Trophy2005Academics, Community Service and On-field Performance

Other Top Major College Football Awards

AwardYear EstablishedVoting Criteria
AP College Football Player of the Year Award1998Most Outstanding Collegiate Football Player
Burlsworth Trophy2010Most Outstanding College Football Player who began career as a walk-on
Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award2013Nation's Outstanding Division I Offensive Player (w/Texas connection)
Jet Award2011Top Return Specialist in College Football
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award1987Nation's Outstanding Senior or Fourth-Year Quarterback
Lott IMPACT Trophy2004College Football Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year
Manning Award2004Nation's best collegiate quarterback (including postseason)
Paul Hornung Award2010Most Versatile Player in Major College Football
Ted Hendricks Award2002College Football's Top Defensive End

Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards

AwardYear EstablishedVoting Criteria
Archie Griffin Award1999College Football Most Valuable Player (including postseason)
Bill Willis Award1991Top Defensive Lineman
Freshman of the Year2001Top Freshman
Jack Lambert Award1991Top Linebacker
Jack Tatum Award1991Top Defensive Back
Jim Brown Award1991Top Running Back
Jim Parker Award1991Top Offensive Lineman
Kellen Moore Award1991Top Quarterback
Ozzie Newsome Award2006Top Tight End
Paul Warfield Award1991Top Wide Receiver
Sammy Baugh Award1959Top College Passer
Vlade Award2010Top Kicker
Chic Harley Award1955College Football Player of the Year

Former Major College Football Awards

AwardYears ActiveVoting Criteria
Mosi Tatupu Award1997-2006College Football Special Teams Player of the Year
Randy Moss Return Man Award2006Nation's Top Kick/Punt Returner Awards