Lou Groza Award

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate place-kicker as determined by a voting panel of Division I head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters from across the country, conference representatives, professional kickers and previous winners.

Established in 1992 by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission, the Lou Groza Award is the most prestigious college award for kickers. The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. After serving in World War II, Groza signed with the Cleveland Browns in 1946. A six-time all-pro tackle, Groza really earned his fame, and his famous nickname, “The Toe,” as a kicker. In 1950 Groza won the NFL championship game for the Browns by kicking a field goal with 28 seconds left. That was just the first of what would turn out to be four championships that Groza and the Cleveland Browns shared.

Groza would go on to play for 21 seasons with Cleveland until he retired in 1967 as the last of the “original” Browns. During his career, Groza set numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. The 1,608 career points he scored is still a Browns’ franchise record, and he ranks third all-time in league history.

Lou was a nine-time all-pro and won an amazing eight championships, four in the AAFC (1946-1949) and four in the NFL (1950, 1954-1955, 1964). He was named as NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974, and is one of only five Cleveland Browns to have his number, 76, retired. After a long and illustrious life, Groza passed away in 2000 at the age of 76.

Lou left a legacy that is still unmatched in NFL history. The name, Lou Groza is etched into football immortality. The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award is a tribute to his life, his accomplishments and the challenge he left to aspiring kickers today.

Other Resources

Lou Groza Award official website
Current Watch List
Palm Beach County Sports Commission Facebook page
Lou Groza Award Twitter feed

List of Winners

2017Matt GayUtahJR
2016Zane GonzalezArizona StateSR
2015Ka'imi FairbairnUCLASR
2014Brad CraddockMarylandJR
2013Roberto AguayoFlorida StateFR
2012Cairo SantosTulaneJR
2011Randy BullockTexas A&MSR
2010Dan BaileyOklahoma StateSR
2009Kai ForbathUCLAJR
2008Graham GanoFlorida StateSR
2007Thomas WeberArizona StateFR
2006Art CarmodyLouisvilleJR
2005Alexis SernaOregon StateSO
2004Mike NugentOhio StateSR
2003Jonathan NicholsOle MissJR
2002Nate KaedingIowaJR
2001Seth MarlerTulaneSR
2000Jonathan RuffinCincinnatiSO
1999Sebastian JanikowskiFlorida StateJR
1998Sebastian JanikowskiFlorida StateSO
1997Martín GramáticaKansas StateJR
1996Marc PrimantiNC StateSR
1995Michael ReederTCUSO
1994Steve McLaughlinArizonaSR
1993Judd DavisFloridaJR
1992Joe AllisonMemphisJR