Football Writers Association of America

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of the men and women across North America who cover college football for a living.

The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards and an All-America team.

Through its website, the FWAA works to improve communication among all those who work within the game. The FWAA also sponsors scholarships for aspiring writers and an annual writing contest.

The FWAA All-America team is one of the five team’s used to determine consensus and unanimous All-America status. Additionally, the FWAA sponsors several of college football’s top awards including:


The Bronko Nagurski Trophy
The Outland Trophy
The Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
The Armed Forces Merit Award