Chuck Bednarik Award

The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented annually to the defensive collegiate football player adjudged by the Maxwell Football Club to be the best in the United States. The award is named for Chuck Bednarik, a former collegiate and professional American football player.

Bednarik was a three-time All-American for the University of Pennsylvania, and finished third in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1948 while winning the Maxwell Award. He went on to be the No. 1 overall pick in the 1949 NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles where he played his entire career, retiring after the 1962 season. Bednarik was the last full-time two-way player in the NFL starring at both center and linebacker, and he was ultimately elected to both the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1967) and the College Football Hall of Fame (1969). Nicknamed “Concrete Charlie,” he’s remembered as one of the most devastating tacklers of all-time.

Other Resources

The Chuck Bednarik Award
Current Watch List
Maxwell Football Club Facebook Page
Maxwell Football Club Twitter Feed

List of Winners

2017Minkah FitzpatrickAlabamaDBJR
2016Jonathan AllenAlabamaDLSR
2015Tyler MatakevichTempleLBSR
2014Scooby Wright IIIArizonaLBSO
2013Aaron DonaldPittsburghDTSR
2012Manti Te'oNotre DameLBSR
2011Tyrann MathieuLSUCBSO
2010Patrick PetersonLSUCBJR
2009Ndamukong SuhNebraskaDTSR
2008Rey MaualugaUSCLBSR
2007Dan ConnorPenn StateLBSR
2006Paul PoslusznyPenn StateLBSR
2005Paul PoslusznyPenn StateLBJR
2004David PollackGeorgiaLBSR
2003Teddy LehmanOklahomaLBSR
2002E.J. HendersonMarylandLBSR
2001Julius PeppersNorth CarolinaDEJR
2000Dan MorganMiami (FL)LBSR
1999LaVar ArringtonPenn StateLBJR
1998Dat NguyenTexas A&MLBSR
1997Charles WoodsonMichiganCBJR
1996Pat FitzgeraldNorthwesternLBSR
1995Pat FitzgeraldNorthwesternLBJR