Bowl Eligibility Report: Week 13

Seventy teams now eligible for postseason play with eight spots left

Ten more teams joined the six-win club last week to increase the number of bowl-eligible teams to 70.

There are 14 teams that can still reach six wins and grab one of those remaining eight slots for bowl games. The total of 78 postseason teams includes all of the bowls and four teams in the College Football Playoff semifinals.

Rick Stockstill’s Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders only need to beat Old Dominion at home this weekend to become bowl eligible.

Eighteen teams are sitting at five wins, but there are four games this weekend that feature five-win teams squaring off to close the regular season — Indiana at Purdue, Old Dominion at Middle Tennessee, Cal at UCLA and Colorado at Utah. Five-win Louisiana will have two more shots to get to six wins with games against Georgia Southern and Appalachian State still on the schedule.

Two FBS teams, Coastal Carolina and Ole Miss, are not eligible for postseason play, while 37 other teams — Air Force, Arkansas, Ball State, Baylor, Baylor, Bowling Green, BYU, Charlotte, Cincinnati, East Carolina, Eastern Michigan, Florida, Georgia Southern, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kent State, Maryland, Miami (OH), Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon State, Pittsburgh, Rice, Rutgers, San Jose State, South Alabama, Syracuse, Texas State, Tennessee, Tulsa, UConn, UMass, UTEP and Vanderbilt — have been eliminated from bowl contention.

Two more teams, Florida State and New Mexico State, could still get to six wins, but both teams would have to win their final two games. will break down which teams are bowl eligible and how many postseason spots are still open each week throughout the remainder of the regular season.

Temple’s Geoff Collins has the Owls just one win away from bowl eligibility in his first season in Philadelphia.

American Athletic Conference — No new teams reached six wins in the American last week, leaving Houston, Memphis, Navy, SMU, UCF and USF as the bowl-eligible teams from the league. Temple can get to six wins with a road victory over Tulsa. Tulane can also win its sixth game by knocking off SMU on Saturday in Big D. The conference has seven bowl tie-ins.

Atlantic Coast Conference — Boston College became the first team this season to become bowl eligible at a baseball stadium. The Eagles beat UConn, 39-16, at Fenway Park to reach six wins. BC joins Clemson, Louisville, Miami (FL), NC State, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest in postseason eligibility. Duke and Georgia Tech still have a shot to win six. The Blue Devils are at Wake Forest, while the Ramblin’ Wreck hosts cross-state rival Georgia. The ACC will come up short of its 11 bowl affiliations.

Big 12 Conference — Two upsets, two more bowl-eligible teams in the Big 12. Kansas State and Texas pulled off impressive wins over Oklahoma State and West Virginia, respectively, to reach six victories. The Wildcats and Longhorns join Iowa State, TCU, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and West Virginia in bowl eligibility. Texas Tech will try to topple Texas on the road for its sixth win on Friday. The Big 12 has surpassed its six bowl tie-ins.

Big Ten Conference — No more teams in the Big 10 reached six wins last week leaving Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Penn State, Ohio State and Wisconsin as the only bowl-eligible teams in the conference. Minnesota will have to pull off a big upset over Wisconsin to get to six victories and join the Indiana-Purdue winner in postseason eligibility this weekend. Either way, the Big Ten will be short on its 10 bowl affiliations.

Conference USA — UTSA and Western Kentucky both had impressive wins last week to reach six victories. The Roadrunners beat Marshall, 9-7, while the Hilltoppers outlasted Middle Tennessee, 41-38. Those two teams join FAU, FIU, Marshall, North Texas and UAB in bowl eligibility. C-USA has surpassed its six bowl affiliations.

Independents – No changes for the rest of the season for the four independents. Army West Point and Notre Dame are in, BYU and UMass are out.

Buffalo’s Lance Leipold will need to engineer an upset over Ohio for his Bulls to become bowl eligible.

Mid-American Conference — Although the MAC has surpassed its four bowl commitments with Akron, Central Michigan, Northern Illinois, Ohio, Toledo and Western Michigan, Buffalo can still get to six wins with a victory over Ohio on Friday.

Mountain West Conference — Utah State joined the six-win party with a shutout of Hawaii last week. The Aggies join Boise State, Colorado State, Fresno State, San Diego State and Wyoming in postseason eligibility. The conference has already surpassed its five bowl tie-ins.

Pac-12 Conference — Arizona State and Oregon both reached six wins last week. The Sun Devils beat Oregon State, 40-24, while the Ducks got a nice 48-28 victory over Arizona to achieve six wins. ASU and Oregon join Arizona, Stanford, USC, Washington and Washington State in postseason eligibility. The conference has surpassed its six bowl affiliations.

Southeastern Conference — Red-hot Missouri picked up its fifth straight win by pounding Vanderbilt, 45-17, last week to reach six wins. The Tigers join Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, LSU, Kentucky, Mississippi State, South Carolina and Texas A&M in postseason eligibility. No more SEC teams can reach postseason eligibility, so the conference finishes one shy of reaching its 10 bowl tie-ins.

Sun Belt Conference — Arkansas State bounced back from a tough loss to South Alabama with win number six over Texas State last week. The Red Wolves join Appalachian State, Georgia State and Troy in postseason eligibility. The Sun Belt has five bowl tie-ins.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *