Michigan’s Hudson named Nagurski Player of the Week

DALLAS (FWAA) – Michigan safety Khaleke Hudson was a one-man wrecking crew to Minnesota’s offense last Saturday, racking up a school-record eight tackles-for-loss among his 15 total tackles as Michigan retained the Little Brown Jug with a 33-10 win. Hudson added three sacks and forced a fumble, a total effort that has earned him the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for the week of Nov. 4.

Hudson, a 6-0, 205-pound sophomore from McKeesport, Pa., was the primary reason Michigan’s defense limited Minnesota to 164 total yards – only 36 in the second half. His eight tackles for loss took away 46 Minnesota yards and broke a 16-year-old record held by Larry Foote at Iowa in 2001 with seven. Adding in his three sacks – also a career high that led to another 34 yards in losses – Hudson accounted for 80 yards taken away from Minnesota’s offense.

The 15 tackles – a new career high for Hudson and the most by any Michigan player this year – included 12 solo stops. His forced fumble came in the third quarter on a blitz. Michigan, which led 20-7 at the time, recovered and converted the takeaway into a touchdown and a 27-7 lead to put the game away.

Hudson is now tied for team lead in solo tackles with 32, and his 51 total tackles are third. He has 14 tackles for loss to lead the Wolverines, accounting for minus-67 yards lost. His 5.5 sacks are second on the team, and he has one interception.

Each Tuesday during the regular season, the FWAA has selected a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week since 2001. This is the final weekly selection for the 2017 season. Hudson will be added to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Wed., Nov. 15. The winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2017 FWAA All-America Team.

The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s entire membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists. The committee members then select the winner as the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center. In addition to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner’s announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.


This article has 5 Comments

  1. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a
    reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful
    job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *