Love, Ejiofor earn recognition from Maxwell Football Club

Courtesy of the Maxwell Football Club

PHILDELPHIA – Each week during the 2017 season the Maxwell Football Club will recognize outstanding performances with two weekly awards. The Maxwell Award Player of the Week will be recognized for overall performance on offense, defense or special teams, and the Chuck Bednarik Award Player of the Week will be honored for outstanding defensive play. Players selected do not have to be represented on the Maxwell or Bednarik Award watch lists.

The players of the week for week five are:

Stanford’s Love

Maxwell Award Player of the Week – Bryce Love – Stanford

Love dominated the game on the ground, leading Stanford to a Pac-12 victory over Arizona State last weekend. The junior made the most of his 25 carries, rushing for 301 yards and three touchdowns. He not only broke the school record for rushing yards in a single game, but also became the fastest player to 1,000 rushing yards in a single season just three quarters into the fifth game of the year. Love will look for another powerful performance as the Cardinal heads on the road to play Utah Saturday night.

Bednarik Player of the Week – Duke Ojiofor – Wake Forest

Wake Forest’s Ejiofor

Ejiofor brought the pressure last weekend in a tough defensive effort as Wake Forest ultimately fell to Florida State. As part of a defensive unit that held Florida State to only 270 total yards, he recorded eight tackles, one sack, and 3.5 tackles for loss. Ejiofor will look to provide his defense with a much-needed spark this week as the Demon Deacons head to Death Valley to take on defending champion Clemson on Saturday.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 744 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story. 

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 30, 2017, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 20, 2017. The winners of the 2017 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 7, 2017. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 9, 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *