San Diego State’s Kelly earns weekly Nagurski honor

DALLAS (FWAA) – San Diego State cornerback Kameron Kelly made several game-altering plays Saturday as the Aztecs remained undefeated with a 20-17 home win over Stanford. For his career-best performance, Kelly earned the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for the week of Sept. 16.

Kelly, a 6-2, 200-pound senior from Murphy, Texas, had five solo tackles among his six overall stops, including a career-best two tackles for loss. His two sacks were the first of his career, as was his forced fumble. Kelly played a part in two of San Diego State’s three takeaways against a Stanford offense that had turned the ball over only once in its eight previous games dating back to 2016. The forced fumble came as Stanford was driving late in the second quarter, and Kelly sealed his fine performance – and the game – with an interception on the Cardinal’s final possession.

Led by Kelly’s efforts, the Aztecs forced six three-and-outs, and limited the Cardinal to just 18:46 of possession time, its lowest total since at least 1996 according to the school. Kelly leads the Aztecs with 14 solo tackles this season and is third with 15 total tackles. He also has three tackles for loss and two pass breakups in addition to his two sacks, the interception and the forced fumble from Saturday.

Each Tuesday during the regular season, the FWAA has selected a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week since 2001. Kelly will be added to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Wed., Nov. 15. The winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2017 FWAA All-America Team.

The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s entire membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists. The committee members then select the winner as the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center. In addition to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner’s announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Visit to learn more about our story.

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *