Three powerhouses lead CFA Yearbook’s FCS Starting Lineup

Three players from Jacksonville State, along with two each from defending FCS champion James Madison and Sam Houston State, have been named to the College Football America 2017 Yearbook FCS Starting Lineup, CFA’s version of an All-America team.

Jacksonville State won the Ohio Valley Conference in 2016 and reached the round of 16 in the FCS playoffs. The Starting Lineup selections for the Gamecocks are offensive lineman Justin Lea, defensive lineman Darius Jackson and defensive back Marlon Bridges. Lea anchored one of the nation’s top rushing offenses. Jackson had 48 tackles, 10 sacks, 13 quarterback hurries and 15.5 tackles for loss. As a freshman, Bridges led the Gamecocks with 86 tackles and was second with four interceptions.

Starting Lineup selections for James Madison, which beat Youngstown State, 28-14, to win the FCS title, are offensive lineman Aaron Stinnie and defensive back Raven Greene. Stinnie was one of the catalysts for running back Khalid Abdullah’s 1,809-yard rushing season in 2016. Greene had 70 tackles and a team-leading six interceptions.

Quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe and defensive end P.J. Hall are the Starting Lineup selections for Sam Houston State, which won the Southland Conference and reached the FCS quarterfinals. Briscoe threw for 4,602 yards and 57 touchdowns in 2016 and was named the Walter Payton Award winner as FCS’s top player. Hall had an exceptional 2016, notching 13 sacks, 24.5 tackles for loss and seven pass breakups.

Two other programs — South Dakota State and Western Carolina — have multiple Starting Lineup selections. In all, 22 FCS programs saw players selected to the Starting Lineup.

Five 2016 American Football Coaches Association First-Team All-Americans are on the CFA Starting Lineup. They include Briscoe, Fordham running back Chase Edmonds, South Dakota State tight end Dallas Goedert, Western Carolina kick returner Detrez Newsome and South Carolina State linebacker Darius Leonard.

Edmonds, Hall and South Dakota State wide receiver Jake Weineke were members of the 2016 CFA Starting Lineup.

The College Football America 2017 Yearbook features more than 930 college football teams from the United States and Canada over the course of more than 300 striking, full-color pages. That includes every team from the NCAA (FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III), NAIA, NJCAA, CCCAA and U Sports (Canada). It also includes updates on club football, one-year postgraduate prep/sports academies and Mexican college football, along with dozens of action shots and stadium photos.

The print edition is available online via and other major retailers such as Barnes & Noble and Books-A-Million. Additionally, an iBooks version for iPads and iPhones is available through Apple’s iTunes bookstore and the iBooks app. And, new this year, a Kindle version of the book is now available.

2017 Book links:


Amazon Kindle:

2017 College Football America Starting Lineup


POS Name, School, YR

QB Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State, SR
RB Chase Edmonds, Fordham, SR
RB Joe Protheroe, Cal Poly, SR
WR Troy Pelletier, Lehigh, SR
WR Jake Wieneke, South Dakota State, SR
TE Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State, SR
OL Daniel Cooney, San Diego, JR
OL Ben Huss, Duquesne, SR
OL Justin Lea, Jacksonville State, SR
OL Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, SR
OL Aaron Stinnie, James Madison, SR
PK Griffin Trau, Richmond, JR
KR Detrez Newsome, Western Carolina, SR


POS Name, School, YR

DL Pat Afriyie, Colgate, SR
DL Anthony Ellis, Charleston Southern, SR
DL P.J. Hall, Sam Houston State, SR
DL Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State, SR
LB Garrett Dolan, Houston Baptist, SR
LB Darius Leonard, South Carolina State, SR
LB Brett Taylor, Western Illinois, SR
DB Mike Basile, Monmouth (NJ), SR
DB Marlon Bridges, Jacksonville State, SO
DB Raven Greene, James Madison, SR
DB Cole Reyes, North Dakota, SR
P Ian Berryman, Western Carolina, JR
PR Terry Wallen, Drake, SR



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *