Mary Hardin-Baylor’s stars highlight CFA Yearbook’s NCAA D3 Starting Lineup

Mary Hardin-Baylor RB Markeith Miller (27) is back to help the Cru defend its 2016 NCAA Division III title.

Defending national champion Mary Hardin-Baylor is the only team with more than one player on the College Football America 2017 Yearbook’s NCAA Division III Starting Lineup, CFA’s version of an All-America team.

Junior running back Markeith Miller returns on offense after leading the Cru with 1,483 yards rushing a year ago on just 212 carries. Twenty of those carries ended with Miller in the end zone, and he added a touchdown reception to finish with 21 touchdowns to lead the Cru in scoring.

He’s joined by senior defensive lineman Haston Adams, one of Division III’s most disruptive forces with 17.5 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries that he ultimately returned for a cumulative 77 yards. He also broke up three passes while sacking opposing quarterbacks 5.5 times.

Mary Hardin-Baylor will need all the star power it can muster in defense of the school’s first Division III national title as the path to the 2017 title is likely to wind its way through Alliance, Ohio, once again. The Mount Union Purple Raiders have built the greatest dynasty in the history of college football over the past two decades in this northeastern Ohio city.

The 2016 season, however, marked the first time the Raiders failed to advance to the Division III National Championship Game since 2004. A 14-12 loss to Mary Hardin-Baylor in the semifinals finally ended the Raiders’ incredible streak, but senior defensive lineman and CFA Starting Lineup member Mike Vidal is back for the Purple Raiders after registering 16 tackles for loss including 12.5 sacks. He and the rest of the Purple Raiders will be chomping at the bit for another shot at a title.

In all, 25 teams are represented in the NCAA Division III Starting Lineup. That includes Mount Union rival and fellow semifinalist John Carroll (senior LB Mason McKenrick) and Alfred (senior LB A.J. LiCata), which started 12-0 before losing to Mount Union 70-45 in the quarterfinals.

Other top players in the Division III Starting Lineup include Franklin senior quarterback Chase Burton (287-of-420, 3,761 yards, 42 TD’s, 8 INT’s), Carnegie Mellon senior running back Sam Benger (314-1,671 yards, 26 TD’s) and Hartwick senior wide receiver Koree Reed, who averaged an astounding 27.69 yards per catch (58 rec., 1,606 yards, 17 TD’s).

Defensive standouts include Alfred’s LiCata (153 tackles) and Heidelberg senior defensive lineman Austin Crow (28.5 tackles for loss).

The College Football America 2017 Yearbook features more than 930 college football teams from the United States and Canada over the course of more than 300 striking, full-color pages. That includes every team from the NCAA (FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III), NAIA, NJCAA, CCCAA and U Sports (Canada). It also includes updates on club football, one-year postgraduate prep/sports academies and Mexican college football, along with dozens of action shots and stadium photos.

The print edition is available online via and other major retailers such as Barnes & Noble and Books-A-Million. Additionally, an iBooks version for iPads and iPhones is available through Apple’s iTunes bookstore and the iBooks app. And, new this year, a Kindle version of the book is now available.

2017 Book links:


Amazon Kindle:

2017 College Football America NCAA Division III Starting Lineup


POS Name, School, YR

QB Chase Burton, Franklin, SR
RB Sam Benger, Carnegie Mellon, SR
RB Markeith Miller, Mary Hardin-Baylor, JR
WR Koree Reed, Hartwick, SR
WR Jesse Zubik, Washington & Jefferson, SR
TE Cody Bain, Coast Guard, SR
OL Justin Fairfield, Hope, SR
OL Joe Fehrle, North Central, SR
OL Matt Gono, Wesley, SR
OL Kyler Kregel, Wheaton, SR
OL Chris Simmons, Trinity (CT), SR
PK Drew Pearson, Wisconsin-Stout, JR
KR Alex Bell, Hardin-Simmons, SR


POS Name, School, YR

DL Haston Adams, Mary Hardin-Baylor, SR
DL Austin Crow, Heidelberg, SR
DL Mamadou Soumahoro, Berry, SR
DL Mike Vidal, Mount Union, SR
LB Darin Hungerford, Kean, SR
LB A.J. Licata, Alfred, SR
LB Mason McKenrick, John Carroll, SR
DB Victor Bunce, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, SR
DB Brooks Hepp, DePauw, JR
DB Ethan Williams, Maryville, JR
DB Cal Lewellyn, Centre, SO
P Francis Cole, Anna Maria, JR
PR Bryson Paulinellie, Westminster (PA), JR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *