Butkus Award 2017 Watch List Released

Courtesy of The Butkus Award®
The Butkus Award® recently released its 2017 Watch List featuring 51 of the nation’s top linebackers. The award has been handed out annually to the nation’s top college linebacker since 1985 when Oklahoma’s Brian Bosworth took home the first trophy. The “Boz” won the award again in 1986 and remains the only two-time winner to date. With 2016 winner Reuben Foster of Alabama now a member of the NFL’s San Francisco 49ers, the Butkus Award® is guaranteed to produce another first-time winner this fall.

Alabama, however, has two more candidates on the 2017 Watch List in seniors Rashaan Evans and Shaun Dion Hamilton. Other top candidates include Virginia Tech’s Tremaine Edmunds, Texas’ Malik Jefferson, Iowa’s Josey Jewell, LSU’s Arden Key, Virginia’s Micah Kiser, Notre Dame’s Nyles Morgan, Miami’s (FL) Shaquille Quarterman, Indiana’s Tegray Scales and Ohio State’s Chris Worley.

The Butkus Award® 2017 Watch List


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *